Oklahoma Nurse Practitioner Licensure Guide - 2023

Nurse Practitioner Licensing Guide for the state of Oklahoma

Last Reviewed: January 8th, 2023

The Oklahoma Board of Nursing receives applications all year long for Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioner (APRN) licenses and they recognize all four major APRN roles:

  • Certified Nurse Practitioner (CNP)
  • Certified Nurse Midwife (CNM)
  • Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS)
  • Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA)

APRNs become eligible for licensing after having met certain requirements as are covered within this guide. APRNs are required to carry out duties that are beyond the scope of regular registered nurses (RNs) as specified by the Oklahoma Nurse Practice Act. This is why they are required to have graduate education and national certification at the time they are applying for a license. The board is saddled with the responsibility of maintaining the quality of nursing practice in the state and licensing is an important tool for this.

Oklahoma NP Licensing & Scope of Work