Maryland Nurse Practitioner Licensure Guide - 2024

by Staff

Updated: February 13th, 2024

Nurse Practitioner Licensing Guide for the state of Maryland

Advanced practice registered nurses (APRNs) are immensely valuable in the healthcare sector as they are equipped to carry out tasks that are considered advanced for registered nurses (RNs) due to their training and experience. To practice as an APRN in Maryland you must be issued a valid license by the Board of Nursing after fulfilling certain requirements including advanced education and national certification.

The board recognizes five major roles for APRNs which are:

  • Nurse Practitioner (NP)
  • Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS)
  • Nurse Midwife (NM)
  • Nurse Anesthetist(CRNA)
  • Nurse Psychotherapist (APRN/PMH)

NPs account for a major share of the APRN population in the US and the procedure for becoming one is the focus of this guide.

Maryland NP Licensing & Scope of Work