Ohio Nurse Practitioner Licensure Guide - 2024


by NursePractitionerLicense.com Staff

Updated: February 13th, 2024

Nurse Practitioner Licensing Guide for the state of Ohio

The Ohio Board of Nursing is the regulatory body for the practice of nursing in Ohio and it is responsible for issuing licenses to qualified and deserving applicants all year long. The board recognizes all four major APRN roles namely:

  • Certified Nurse Practitioner (CNP)
  • Certified Nurse Midwife (CNM)
  • Certified Nurse Specialist (CNS)
  • Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CNA)

Nurse practitioners account for the majority of APRNs owing to the various specialty areas and population foci available to them. In Ohio, nurse practitioners may be required to hold collaborative practice agreements with physicians to practice. For their APRN permit, they are required to provide proof of advanced education and national certification with a recognized certifying agency. The APRN license is also referred to as a “Certificate of Authority”.

To obtain a Certificate of Authority, you must hold a valid RN license to practice in Ohio. The state is not a party to the Nurse Licensure Compact which allows nurses to practice physically and/or telephonically in member states with a multi-state license. A similar arrangement is also in the works for APRN licenses. However, all out-of-state licenses are required to be endorsed in Ohio for use within the state.

Ohio NP Licensing & Scope of Work