Michigan Nurse Practitioner Licensure Guide - 2024


by NursePractitionerLicense.com Staff

Updated: February 13th, 2024

Nurse Practitioner Licensing Guide for the state of Michigan

Diagnoses, patient examination, and prescription of medications are some of the tasks considered to be outside of the registered nurse (RN) traditional roles. However, RNs can cross this professional barrier by obtaining a license to practice as an advanced practice registered nurse (APRN).

This license is issued to eligible applicants who fulfill certain educational, certification, and experiential requirements as are laid down by the licensing authority in any given state. The Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) is responsible for issuing licenses to qualified RNs and APRNs. Only three major APRN roles are recognized which are:

  • Nurse Practitioner (NP)
  • Nurse Anesthetist (NA)
  • Nurse Midwife (NM)

NPs account for the majority of APRNs in the country and they are trained to provide professional care to specific population foci. The application process for a license involves the submission of a correctly filled application form, payment of all required fees, and provision of required supporting documents.

All applicants for an APRN license must be licensed to practice as RNs in Michigan. Since Michigan is not a member of the enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC), a valid multistate RN license from a member state is not tenable during application. However, the Michigan House Bill (HB) 4042 which will allow the state to join the NLC has been introduced into the legislature. We can expect that the state will join this compact that allows nurses to practice physically or virtually in member states without applying for a new license soon.

Michigan NP Licensing & Scope of Work