Kansas Nurse Practitioner Licensure - 2024 Guide


by NursePractitionerLicense.com Staff

Updated: February 13th, 2024

The Kansas State Board of Nursing (KSBN) is the chief licensing agency for the nursing profession in the state of Kansas issuing licenses to qualified nurses and advanced practice registered nurses (APRNs).

APRNs are licensed to carry out tasks considered out of the scope of practice of registered nurses (RNs) based on their advanced knowledge and skill obtained through education and years of experience. The KSBN recognizes four major APRN roles which include;

  • Nurse Practitioners (NPs)
  • Nurse Midwives (NMWs)
  • Clinical Nurse Specialists (CNSs)
  • Registered Nurse Anesthetists (RNAs)

Nurse practitioners make up the majority of these professionals. Licensing and certification are one of the major ways that state and federal governments maintain a high quality of service from professionals in healthcare and other sectors. The board receives applications for these licenses all year round and only applicants who fulfill all the requirements are issued licenses.

Kansas NP Licensing & Scope of Work