Iowa Nurse Practitioner Licensure Guide - 2024

by Staff

Updated: February 13th, 2024

Nurse Practitioner Licensing Guide for the state of Iowa

Licenses help the government protect the quality of professional services offered in various industries and the healthcare industry is one where this kind of gatekeeping is necessary.

The Iowa Board of Nursing (IBON) is the chief licensing authority in Iowa, issuing licenses to registered nurses (RNs) and advanced practice registered nurses (APRNs) who meet certain requirements as will be covered in detail as this article progresses. APRNs are an important part of the healthcare system of any state and IBON recognizes four major groups of APRNs:

  • Certified Nurse Practitioners (CNPs, or NPs)
  • Certified Nurse Specialists (CNS)
  • Certified Nurse Midwives (CNM)
  • Certified Nurse Anesthetists (CNAs)

The CNPs account for the majority of APRNs in the state and the nation at large. This is because they find relevance in more specialty areas for different population foci. A nurse practitioner is an RN who is licensed to carry out tasks that would be considered advanced for an RN. They can examine and diagnose patients, request tests and examinations, and prescribe medications.

Iowa NP Licensing & Scope of Work