Delaware Nurse Practitioner Licensure - 2024 Guide

by Staff

Updated: February 13th, 2024

Advanced practice registered nurses (APRNs) represent an important part of Delaware’s healthcare workforce. Licensed to carry out tasks that are considered advanced for registered nurses (RNs). They are licensed to examine patients, request tests and examinations, prescribe medications, and make complex medical decisions.

In Delaware, nurse practitioners (a class of APRN) are allowed to practice without the supervision of a physician. The level of expertise and professionalism required from nurse practitioners is what makes it necessary for them to have gone through post-graduate training and have been certified nationally. 

The licensing authority in Delaware is the Board of Nursing under the Division of Professional Regulation (DPR). The board recognizes four major classes of APRNs which include Certified Nurse-Midwives (CNMs), Certified Nurse Practitioners (CNPs), Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists (CRNAs), and Certified Nurse Specialists (CNSs). Each of these professionals has a population focus that they are certified and licensed to cater to. CNPs are allowed to have multiple population foci some of which include pediatric health, geriatric health, emergency nursing, and psychiatric nursing.

Learn about specific licensing requirements below:

Delaware NP Licensing & Scope of Work